You are what you eat . . . wear

Image

Did you know that 90% of what is put onto your skin (your body’s largest organ) is absorbed by your skin? Food isn’t the only visitor entering your system. Your lotion, perfume, cologne, makeup, toothpaste and shaving cream are all visitors alike. Like food, skincare can have negative or positive results on your body. It can harm the body but it can also heal and help the body. The choice is up to you.

Below is a basic look into how we do “skincare.” If you are interested in diving deeper and/or learning more from cooler, smarter people, check out http://nomoredirtylooks.com/ or http://purelyprimalskincare.com/ or http://wellnessmama.com/ to begin.

Let’s start head to toe, shall we?

–   Shampoo/conditioner: We are big fans of the “no poo” method (http://cavegirleats.com/no-poo/). If we use “real” shampoo (we may or may not shift depending on our mood), I like “Nature’s Gate” (http://natures-gate.com/) and Green Body Green Planet http://www.greenbodygreenplanet.com/” best.  Green Body smells amazing.

* A NOTE ABOUT SKIN CARE: If you are having consistent breakouts, I would highly recommend evaluating your diet and water intake. Our bodies are ALWAYS trying to talk to us about what is taking place inside via outside symptoms. We have become so accustomed to these symptoms that we don’t even see them (dry skin, oily skin, blemishes etc) as symptoms! Acne is common but it is not normal. It should not be an accepted time of the teenage (and ever increasing) early adult years. I would challenge you to do some research on how to “read” your skin and learn what is taking place inside your body, instead of solely focusing on what is taking place outside of your body.

–  Facial Cleanser: The oil method. Sounds crazy, I know. http://wellnessmama.com/7569/oil-cleansing-for-naturally-perfect-skin/

http://www.theoilcleansingmethod.com/

–  Facial Exfoliation: Baking soda mixed with olive oil, coconut oil, honey or even plain ‘ol water makes a great exfoliation paste. Brown sugar can also be used in place of soda but only if you are using an oil base, not a water base.

–   Deodorant: *sighs* I would love to make our own (via coconut oil and baking soda) but so far I have loved Crystal Essence (http://thecrystal.com/essence/) and Trader Joe’s “cotton” deodorant (found at TJ’s). I’m sure there are better ones out there but this is what we are sticking with till it runs out. NOTE: Like acne, profuse sweating and body odor are common but not normal. Profuse sweating and odor are (again) a symptom as to something taking place within, often toxicity and sometimes even parasites. Sweating is a detoxification process involving the lymph nodes. Two of these vital “nodes” are located beneath our arms, aka armpits. This is no coincidence! Masking sweating and/or odor with antiperspirants simply hinders the lymph nodes from doing their job, in turn creating a cyclical problem starting and ending with “smelly” toxins. The solution? Detoxify and allow your armpits to do their job! Re-educate yourself.

–  Body Wash: Our favorite = Dr. Bronner’s. (http://www.drbronner.com/) This stuff is the bomb, although it isn’t cheap. Solution? Buy in bulk and/or dilute with water. This stuff is powerful and you only need a very tiny bit (seriously. Tiny.) It is also sold in bar form for much cheaper. We also like Tom’s bar soap (http://www.tomsofmaine.com/home) and a vegetable oil/tea tree bar sold at Trader Joe’s (not sold on this but I love the consistency and smell). I am working on making my own soap . . . details to follow in the near future 🙂

–  Toothpaste: We have been using Tom’s but I recently heard it contains a not-so-okay ingredient. I will be getting back to you all with more information. Right now I’m on the hunt and considering DIY toothpaste . . . hmmm. How weird do I want to be?

–   Shaving Cream: Coconut oil. I keep it in a little tupperware container (you could also use a mason jar) in the shower caddy. Easy.

–   Body Moisturizer: Coconut oil mixed with essential oil. Right now I have “tangerine” oil going on. I simply melted the oil, added a few drops of tangerine, stirred, and allowed it to come to room temp before applying. I keep this stuff in a mini mason jar under the sink. I use this all over; elbows, knees, arms, legs, hands. Because I work in the sun and water, my face gets pretty dry. I also use coconut oil (in very small amounts) and apply it like I would a foundation to my “sun” face.

–   Lips: If I’m home, I like to apply the same stuff above to my lips but Burt’s Bees is my go-to.

–   Hands/Elbows/Cuticle: Burt’s Bee’s Hand Salve: A Farmers Friend. Best $ 8.00 I have ever spent.

–   Feet: Cracked heels are NOT always but CAN be a sign of yeast overgrowth/infection within the body. I have no remedies for your feet but I can tell you that you need to #1 cut out sugar and #2 do some yeast-killing research on your own, cracked heels are uncharted territory for me.

Natural skin care can get expensive, IF you are used to grabbing stuff from the shelves. However, DIY skincare (for a month) can be as cheap as coconut oil, baking soda and fermented, apple cider vinegar. DO NOT try and go cold turkey. If you are interested in going “all natural” or simply cutting cost by making your own products, start with ONE thing at a time. Choose what is most exciting or most important to you and focus on making that one thing really well, with ingredients that fit into your budget. When you feel like you have a handle on your new product, go ahead and add something else. Don’t let natural skincare overwhelm you or break your budget. THAT’s unhealthy.

2 thoughts on “You are what you eat . . . wear

  1. Ive been oil cleansing this whole pregnancy because my skin has been so dry! It totally changed my skin, soft, smaller pores, one pimple in like the last 4 months, and even scarring going away. Yay!

Leave a Reply

