Apple Sauce 101

Image

This really is one of the easiest recipes I have ever “made”. Definitely worth it. You can buy quality apple sauce if you don’t want to get all “Pioneer Woman.” I’m totally cool with that. But this makes your house smell like Mrs. Piggle Wiggle’s house. Lemons. Apples. Cinnamon. If you never read Mrs. Piggle Wiggle growing up, I am deeply sorry.

Image

I made a very small batch, we’re talking 5-6 apples. I also left the peel on. This is entirely up to you. Sadly, I just now found out you can add butter to the recipe. I will definitely be trying this next time. What a beautiful way to incorporate some healthy fat.

1. 3 lbs of apples. I used a few Honey Crisp and one or two Pink Ladies. (Note: 6 lbs is the norm for making a big batch. If you want to make a big batch, double the amounts listed below)

2. Half a cup of water

3. Cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves. I used a pumpkin pie spice blend. Maybe 2 tablespoons?

4. Honey. I’m guessing I used 3 tablespoons.

5. Juice of one small lemon or half a large lemon

1. Slice, core, and peel (if you so desire) apples.

2. Place apple slices into a pot large enough to hold them and the water.

3. Add water. Add lemon juice. Sprinkle spices over apples. Drizzle honey over apples. Stir till well incorporated.

4. Cook over medium (or high-low) heat with lid for 20-30 minutes (stir every so often so the bottom doesn’t burn. They should be mushy when done).

5. Allow apples to cool. Now, you could mash them by hand with a potato masher for a rural, folky feel. You could also place them into a  food processor and mix till you reach a desired consistency. Store in airtight containers. I’m not sure how long it will last, we eat it too fast! It is delicious served both hot and cold.

6. Snuggle up with a copy of Mrs. Piggle Wiggle and a bowl of your very own apple sauce. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

